December 21, 2010

26 political parties apply for electoral symbols

ISLAMABAD: Around 26 political parties have filed applications in the Election Commission of Pakistan for allotment of electoral symbols to represent them in the forthcoming elections.

All Pakistan Muslim League President Pervez Musharraf applied for the symbol ‘cannon’, ‘horse’ and ‘eagle’ as electoral symbols to represent his party, while Dr AQ Khan has applied for ‘missile’ as the symbol for his party.

In addition, MQM has opted for ‘kite’ as its symbol and the Pakistan Awami Tehreek led by Dr Tahirul Qadri has already been allotted ‘moon’ as electoral symbol.